At Least It’s Something

Well, folks, some days you just have to mail it in.  My best efforts today were thwarted, and I’ve just now squeaked past my daily 1,667 to wrap up the night.  I was worried for a little while that I was going to end up with more calories burned at the gym tonight (1,244) than words put down in my novel.  Fortunately, a few late night bursts pushed me over the edge.

I don’t know how to feel about today’s writing, but I will say that I’m glad I didn’t just sit back tonight and think ‘What the heck?  I’m ahead.  I’ll just take the night off.  I don’t want to sound like a workaholic, but like I keep telling Ashley, I don’t want to lose the momentum I’ve gained over the last eleven days.  Even if it is ‘the bare minimum,’ I’m proud to say that today, when it was hard, I still produced something. I didn’t give my muse a rest, and I didn’t pack it in when the going got tough.

Not much else to say about it, I guess, but I’ll be back in the saddle tomorrow, and 30k will be mine by 6 am.  Take it to the bank.

3 responses to this post.

  1. We’re in agreement on the momentum. Getting ahead is no reason to slow down. A shark has to keep swimming to keep breathing. That’s how I view writing sometimes. If you stop, you don’t know if you’ll be able to start again.

    Reply

    • That’s a great example, Dan. If you don’t mind, I think I’ll use it later on.

      Reply

      • Go for it. I think I stole it from Chinatown Death Cloud Peril by Paul Malmont if I’m not mistaken. Pulp writers Lester Dent and Walter Gibson reluctantly team up after stumbling upon a mystery at H.P. Lovecraft’s funeral.

Leave a Reply

