Running and running and… running.

I imagine that the feelings I have toward my novel right now are very similar to those of a runner who has just completed mile number five… of a marathon.  It’s a good feeling to have reached that marker.  You run over to the side and grab a cup of water, throw it down your throat and press on to the cheering cries of the crowd, who are all waving their hands and secretly – or not secretly – jealous that they are not also running a marathon.

There is still, though, in the back of your mind, this tugging, nagging feeling that says: I have how many miles left?  At just shy of 30,000 words, I have that same nagging voice in the back of my head.  This afternoon, I politely told that voice where he could shove it, and proceeded to write 2,500 words, bringing my total to 27,606.  See, I’ve decided that my focus while I write this novel (or any project from now on, for that matter) is going to be on what I’ve finished and where I am.  Worrying about what I’ve got left to do seems like it only leads to further stress and panic.

I ‘finished’ early today, which means I got my quota in before 9:00, which is a good day for me.  I’m torn now between writing more later today and trying to push past the thirty thousand mark and taking the rest of the night off to relax and saving that 30k line for tomorrow.  For now, I’m going to bask in the wonder that has been ten straight days of literary abandon.  Ah, feel that cool crisp breeze flowing over my face.  No wait… who opened the window?! It’s freezing in here!

See you tomorrow for more writing updates and anecdotes and witty one-liners, and also, tonight or tomorrow 30,000 words completed!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Way to go fellow nanowrimo-er! Watch out for the cramps at mile 17.

    Reply

  2. Congrats on getting to 27k! I’m about 10k behind you and look forward to hitting the 30k mark myself!

    Reply

  3. I like the running analogy. I’ve been viewing mine as being in the middle of eating a giant sandwich. I’m tired of the taste and my jaws are sore but I’ve gone too far to stop now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

