Entering the Fray

Well, it’s begun.  I took my lunch today to crank out my ‘quota’ for the day, and already I’m tired.  I did it, though, finishing up just in time with just over 1,700 words. I’ve met my main character. He’s a bit grittier than I suspected, and his sense of morality is somewhat questionable, but I think he and I are going to get along just fine.

The first few paragraphs, I’ll confess, felt more than a little daunting.  My internal editor wasn’t quite finished packing, and tried to make a few ‘helpful suggestions’ as I typed, but I gave him the boot, and after several minutes, my fingers and my imagination picked up a steady rhythm.  I remembered, as I trudged along, that I actually like writing, and each sentence became an adventure, and a new obstacle to conquer.

I suppose what I’ve written so far makes up about half a chapter or so, and I’ve already started identifying key issues with my writing.  I’m choosing, though, to ignore those issues and just keep plodding along.  This month, my goal is productivity.  We can worry about quality later, once the whole store is actually out there.  I’ll have plenty of time for editing, later, and to tell the truth, I’m looking forward to it.  But it’s not time now.

I’m not even finished for the day, I don’t think.  My goal is to pump out another session of 1,667 today, maybe even two if I can find the focus and the energy.  I honestly believe that getting a good healthy start is the key to pushing through those long dry stretches later in the month where I start to hate my novel and my characters and the fact that I ever thought it was a good idea to do this.

Let’s be fair, too. This is only the first day.  I’m already feeling excited about the prospect of reaching word 50,000 and beyond, but I have to reach each goal before then, first.  My first goal is accomplished, and I’m feeling the energy to keep going.  I’ve never felt so excited about a novel before, so I think this is a good thing.  I hope your novels are going well, also, and for those of you not writing, I hope that you’re enjoying this blogging experience so far.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Ashley Harris on November 1, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Can’t wait to read what you’ve written so far!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mishelle on November 2, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    Hehe, i got 1492 up to this point. WHo knows where it will go from here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

